foodshaken

Rosemary Garlic Fries

I LOVE French Fries.  I was sitting in class today, not listening at all to whatever it was my professor was saying, instead I was web-surfing, looking up yummy recipes to make, and I found this one.  Since I do love French Fries, I decided that I would give these a try for lunch (since it is Friday and I have a cough and there was no way I was going to sit in the library all afternoon).  I knew I had all the ingredients (you might think that rosemary would be an odd thing for a university student to have, but I made a wonderful Pommes Anna several months ago and rosemary is a necessary ingredient) and I knew they weren’t a lot of effort and so I tried them.  Overall, they were a success, but I would do some things differently if I were to do them again.

Ingredients

Peel and slice, in French Fry shaped slices, your potatoes (my general rule of thumb is one potato per person).

Soak your potato slices in cold water for about 10 minutes, this is to remove all the starch.  Drain them and pat them dry with paper towel.  This is one of the keys to good French Fries, dry potatoes.

Transfer your potatoes back to the bowl and add spices, salt, pepper and olive oil.

Using your hands, mix it all up.

Next spread them out on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil.  (The aluminum foil serves two purposes here, one to make a much easier clean up and the second to crisp up the fries, and who doesn’t love crispy fries!)   Another key to good fries is making sure that they don’t touch one another on the sheet.

Bake at 450 (or as my grandmother would say, in a very hot oven) for 20-30 minutes, turning once or twice.  (NB, In the picture above you can see that there are a few small bits, try to avoid this because they will just burn.)

Rosemary Garlic Fries

As you can see, mine are a little too overdone.  I have a cold oven and so I thought that 30 minutes would do the trick; obviously I was wrong.  22-25 minutes would have been just fine.  That said I really liked these and will definitely have them again!  They’re easy, and you could make them for all your friends, say at Grey’s night!

Rosemary Garlic Fries

Ingredients:
1 potato per person
2 tsp. olive oil
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
3/4 tsp. dried rosemary leaves
salt
pepper

Method: 

Preheat oven to 450.
Peel and slice potato into French fries.  Soak for ten minutes in cold water.  Rinse and pat dry.
Put slices back in bowl and add olive oil, garlic powder, rosemary, salt and pepper.  Coat slices.
Place slices on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil and bake for 20-30 minutes turning once or twice.

This entry was published on March 9, 2012 at 5:50 PM and is filed under Lunch, Potatoes, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

