foodshaken

Banana Bread Pudding

I had a kitchen failure.  I don’t mind admitting it.  The kitchen is where I go when things go wrong: when I do poorly on a test, when I’m having trouble writing an essay, when I need a study break, when I’m fighting with a friend.  The kitchen is also where I go to celebrate: birthdays, holidays, celebrations just for fun.  But inadvertently, things go wrong.  And something went wrong about a week ago.  It is the story of the Banana Bread Failure.

My roommate had a bunch of bananas sitting around blackening, she buys them and then doesn’t eat them.  Once they got too black to eat I asked her if I could put them in the freezer and make a bread out of them.  She said, “Sure, no problem!”  So I put them in the freezer and emailed my mother for her banana bread recipe, which is the best in the world.  A few days later I had the time to make it so off I went.  I mixed all the ingredients and put the batter in the loaf pan and whipped it in the oven.  I sat down and looked at the recipe to check the time and realized my mistake.  I put 2 teaspoons of baking powder in it instead of baking soda.  Craaaaaaaaaap…

I promptly Facebooked my good friend JS.  This woman is a cooking master, she can make anything, but she had made the same mistake a few months ago.  I said, “JS, it’s going  to be a brick!”  She said, “Turn it into a bread pudding! Just so long as it doesn’t chip you’re teeth it’ll be fine.”  So I took it out of the oven, carved into it, spread some butter over the top of it and thought to myself that it should be edible.  It tasted good, it was just a little hard to get down.  I poured myself a cuppa and forced it down.  I did this for a few days and then gave up and just made it into a pudding.  Here’s how it went:

Banana Bread Pudding

Ingredients:
3 eggs
4-5 c. cubed bread (about half a loaf)
3/4 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. cinnamon
3/4 c. sugar
vanilla
2 c. whole milk
chocolate chips
(You could put raisins in this, but I hate raisins.)

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees
2. Cube bread, place in 9×5 loaf pan
3. Beat eggs in bowl until frothy, add sugar, vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon.  Beat
4. Beat in milk.  Add chocolate chips.
5. Pour mixture over bread and toss
6. Soak for 30 minutes
7. Bake for 45 minutes, until custard is set.

This really is delicious.  Perfect dessert, and I love dessert, I think every dinner should end with dessert.  Best enjoyed with tea, but what isn’t really?

This entry was published on March 28, 2012 at 6:39 PM. It’s filed under Breads, Desserts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

