foodshaken

Cinnamon Rolls

Oh my Heaven, is it really Thursday?  I’m sitting here, reading the Penguin History of the Second World War (for school obviously… as much as I love history, this is not what I consider to be pleasure reading…).  And I saw a tweet (I often use Twitter as a form of procrastination) from a friend asking another friend if she was going out to trivia at the pub tonight.  We have Trivia every Thursday at the pub.  Then I said to myself, “No, today’s Wednesday, there’s no Trivia today!”  Then I took to thinking of what day it was today, and it is Thursday.  But it was just the other day that I was at the Café for the Jazz Band concert… no… that was a full week ago.  But it was just yesterday that HvdL left for Japan… no… that was Friday.  Oh my, said I, it really is Thursday.  And how wonderful that is.

Now why is it wonderful that it’s Thursday?  Because it’s the weekend and I get to slack off and party for two days?  No, I can’t (and I probably wouldn’t anyway), I have an orchestra weekend, so I’ll be spending the entirety of the weekend rehearsing and performing with my symphonic orchestra.  Fun?, yes, but a LOT of work.

Okay, so I’m not particularly excited for the weekend, so what am I looking forward to?  Well, my friends, in 6 days (that’s Wednesday, April 4th), I’ll be heading to France for a week.  This is a trip I’ve been planning for almost a year now.  April 9, 2012 is the 95th Anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge and I am excited to be going to France for the week to help the Vimy Foundation/Le Coquelicot with the ceremonies.  Later in the month I will be returning to France and spending the entire summer there.  I’m going to blog about it (hopefully).

Yesterday, I made cinnamon buns, they have nothing to do with France or it being Thursday, I just thought I’d share them with you.

JK’s Cinnamon Rolls

Ingredients
2 c. flour
1/4 c. white sugar (you can use honey, but include it with the wet ingredients if you do)
2 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 c. plain yoghurt (or  milk)
1/4 c. oil
1/4 c. milk

1/3 c. melted butter
brown sugar
cinnamon

Method

1. Preheat oven to 375.
2. Combine dry ingredients, add yoghurt and oil.  Combine
3. Add milk, as needed until it forms a soft dough.  Remember you can always add more, but you can never take away, so go a little at a time.
4. Knead briefly on a lightly floured surface and roll into a large rectangle.
5. Brush dough with melted butter to cover (don’t be stingy, I don’t like people who are stingy with butter), sprinkle generously with brown sugar and cinnamon.  (You could but raisins on it too, I don’t know why you would want to ruin perfectly good cinnamon rolls with raisins though…)

6. Roll up like a jelly roll (if you have a ragged end like I do– on the left– then start with this end so that it is on the inside and the outside is even) and cut into approximately one inch slices.  Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
7. Bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes until golden brown and bubbly.

As they say in France: Bon Appetit!

This entry was published on March 29, 2012 at 6:45 PM and is filed under Breads, Breakfast, Desserts, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

