foodshaken

Quick and Easy Chicken Pot Pie

I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago… March 14th in fact.  Now you’re thinking, “How does he remember that?”  I remember it because I made it for a specific reason.  March 14th is Pi Day.

What in the blazes is Pi Day, you ask?  3.14 is the constant pi and on March 14 every year, mathematicians celebrate that constant.  Let me clear something up.  I’m dreadful at math, I don’t hate it, I’m just dreadful at it.  I can add, subtract, multiply and divide, but that’s all.  Oh, and a little bit of algebra too.  I used to be good (read: decent) at math in high school, but it was never really my thing.  I LOVED my Grade 12 Math teacher though.  She and I are still really great friends and we see each other whenever I’m home.  She does not hold it against me that I don’t like math.

What does Chicken Pot Pie have to do with Pi Day?  Normally one would make like an apple pie, or a pumpkin pie, or a strawberry-rhubarb pie, but there are a few reasons I didn’t to that.  One:  I didn’t really feel like rolling out dough and I didn’t have a whole ton of time that day to do it.  Two:  I didn’t have any of the ingredients (like apples) to make a filling and I did not have the time to go get them.  So I got creative and made a Chicken Pot Pie for Pi Day.

It was good.  A little unconventional, I thought.  My mum always put a mashed potato top on her Chicken Pot Pie, and one is doomed to cook like one’s mother, and so I have always felt that mashed potatoes belong on Pot Pie.  This Pot Pie called for a biscuit topping.  It was good, but not what I’m used to.

Cut up 2 chicken breasts into bite sized pieces and sauté them in oil.  (The recipe calls for leftover chicken, but I didn’t have any.)

Place the frozen vegetables in an 8×8 square baking dish and once the chicken is done cooking, place it in the baking dish as well.

Melt butter in a saucepan and add flour.  This is called a roux, it’s a thickening agent.  It sounds difficult, but it’s really not, it’s simply equal parts butter and flour cooked until smooth.  Whisk around the flour to make it smooth and then add in chicken broth.  Once it is all combined and warm, pour over chicken and vegetables and mix.

Prepare biscuits: 1 c. mix, 1/3 c. milk and some grated cheese.  Mix this all together and spread on top of chicken, veg, sauce mix.  Don’t worry if it doesn’t totally cover, some holes are fine, the biscuits will puff up.

Bake at 400 for 45 minutes, until golden brown.

Sorry for the lack of other photos, this was so easy and simple there wasn’t much to take photos of…  I suppose I should have shown you how to make a roux.  That’s okay, I’ll do it next time.

Enjoy!

Quick and Easy Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients:
2 cups chopped cooked chicken (or turkey, or ham)
2 cups leftover, fresh or frozen vegetables
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour
1 cup chicken broth
salt & pepper to taste

1 cup biscuit mix
1/2 cup grated cheese
1/3 cup milk

Method:
1. Place meat and vegetables in a 9 inch round or 8×8 square baking dish.
2. Make the sauce: Melt butter over medium heat, add flour and cook 1 minute to take out the raw flavour.
3. Slowly add chicken broth, whisking constantly to avoid lumps. Bring to a simmer, whisking occasionally.                    4. Remove from heat, add salt and pepper to taste. Pour over meat and vegetables. Mix well.
5. Biscuit topping: Stir together all ingredients with a fork until even moistened. Spread thinly over mixture in casserole dish. (Don’t worry if there are gaps, it does not need to be perfectly covered and it will fill out more as it bakes.)
6. Bake at 400ºF for 25 minutes or until topping is golden and filling is bubbly.

Yield: 4 servings

This entry was published on March 31, 2012 at 12:08 PM and is filed under Casserole, Chicken. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

