foodshaken

My Mum’s Banana Bread

I’ve been far more productive in the kitchen lately than I have been doing schoolwork.  Which is an issue, since school ends in 5 days (plus exams).  I can’t believe that… 5 days.  Good heavens, it seems like it was 5 days ago that I came home from France….

It’s been quite the week here on my small university campus.  On Friday night, my best friend’s mother broke her leg, which has thrown us all into a little bit of a hubub.  A good hubub though, I enjoy being helpful.  Luckily we found out yesterday that she doesn’t need surgery, so it should be smooth sailing from here on out.

Another, more serious thing that happened this weekend is that a student went missing late Saturday night/early Sunday morning.  His name is Chris Metallic and he is a 20 year old student here.  The RCMP and university community have been actively looking for him for the past 3 days.  The university community held a vigil last night to hope and pray for his safe return.  We join with his family to hope for his return, and as our President said in an email today: “Do keep the faith.”  If you, by chance, are reading this and know of his whereabouts, please call the RCMP.

I’ve been cooking a lot, but not taking pictures and not blogging about it, for which I apologize and I will try to remedy that.  Since Monday I’ve made Melting Moments, a roast pork and banana bread (which is a lot considering I am a student and have other things that ought better occupy my time).

I decided to make the banana bread for a couple reasons:

  1. My roommates really like bananas (I, however, do not, I couldn’t imagine eating a banana) but they always buy too many of them, so we had like 12 of them in our freezer.
  2. My best friend’s mum is laid up and I thought she might like a treat.
  3. Sunday was Stir up Sunday and I thought I ought to stir something up.  (Stir Up Sunday is the Sunday before Advent, and the name comes from the Prayer for that Sunday found in the Anglican Book of Common Prayer: “Stir up, we beseech thee, O Lord, the wills of thy faithful people; that they, plenteously bringing forth the fruit of good works, may of the be plenteously rewarded; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.)  This was often the Sunday when women would go home after church and stir up their Christmas Puddings.

My Mum’s Banana Bread is an amazing thing.  So good, moist (what an awful word), and easy as pie (which, incidentally, I do find quite easy).

Fire flour, salt, and soda in a bowl.

112_2385

Put oil and sugar in another bowl.  Mix them up.  Add eggs.

Time now for mashed bananas, milk, and vanilla.

Combine wet and dry.

112_2389

Put into greased loaf pan.

112_2396

Bake.  One hour at 350.  Always one hour.  Not 61 minutes, not 59 minutes, an hour.  It always works.

Banana Bread

Ingredients
2 c. flour
3/4 tsp. soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. sugar
1/4 c. butter (softened) or oil.  I always use oil.
2 eggs
3 bananas, mashed
1/3 c. low-fat yoghurt (or milk– which is what I always use becuase I can’t stand youghurt.)
vanilla

Method

Combine  flour, soda, salt. Place sugar and butter (or oil) in bowl and mix.  Add eggs.  Add bananas (pre-mashed), yoghurt and vanilla.  Beat until blended.  Add flour mixture.  Spoon into greased loaf pan.  Bake at 350 for an hour.

This entry was published on December 4, 2012 at 12:22 PM. It’s filed under Breads, Breakfast, Desserts, Tea and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

