foodshaken

Mini Spanikopita

It’s Christmastime. And that means I have a lot of parties to go to. That sounds like I’m a very popular person, which I am not, but nonetheless, I go to a lot of parties. I usually just tag along with mu brother and then I get nervous when there are too many people around. But I always feel obligated to bring something. I could bring sweets, but this is the time of year for sweets and everyone brings those, plus I didn’t actually make any sweets this year. So I’ve been bringing savory things to parties this year. Yesterday I went to a party at a friend’s house and decided to make these little spanikopitas to take. My mother said they were good, and they all got eaten, but I didn’t actually have one.

Mini Spanikopita

20121221-101658.jpg

Ingredients
10 oz froze spinach, thawed. (Which I didn’t have so I cooked down fresh spinach)
Two cloves garlic
Half a large onion
1/2 cup feta cheese (I didn’t have any of that either, so I used Gouda, which I guess means these aren’t spanikopita at all… Sorry)
1/2 package of puff pastry
Egg wash (one beaten egg combined with a bit of water)

Method
Cook down your spinach in a fry pan with a little bit of oil (or thaw the frozen stuff)
Remove from pan. Cook onions and garlic until soft, about 10 minutes.
Return spinach to pan and add 1/2 c shredded Gouda cheese and salt and pepper. Stir to melt the cheese.
Transfer it all to a bowl and let it cool fully.
Roll out a half a package of puff pastry to a 12×12 Using a pizza wheel and a ruler cut out 16 smaller squares 3×3 each.
Place a small amount of filling in the centre of each square. Make a triangle with it and pinch in all the edges.
Place all 16 pockets on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (actually use parchment paper, do not skip this, it would be a disaster to clean up).
Brush the pockets with an egg wash. And bake in a hot (400 degrees) oven for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

This entry was published on December 21, 2012 at 10:54 AM and is filed under Appetizers, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

